Centre for Maritime Law

The National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO) established the Centre for Maritime Law in 2015 with an aim to build a center of excellence and research in the field of maritime law in India.

The Centre identifies first and foremost, that the statutes which govern maritime law were adapted from foreign states and these statutes don’t address the concerns pertaining to the field appropriately, as the Indian trade practices are relatively different from those foreign states. Also, under the Indian maritime law regime, there has been a lack of timely amendments and proper implementation and hence most of the laws are outdated and are not equipped to deal with modern complications. The Centre is currently working on Indian statutes, case laws, international treaties and conventions pertaining to maritime law and seeks to crystallize the current maritime jurisprudence in India.

The Centre in collaboration with 6th Bose & Mitra & Co. International Maritime Arbitration Moot Court Competition, 2019 organized a Panel Discussion on Maritime Law on 29th March 2019. Eminent personalities like Capt. Ashok Mahapatra (Retd. Director, Maritime Safety Division, International Maritime Organization) and Senior Advocate V.J. Mathew (Chairman, Kerela State Maritime Board) had pitched their view on Emerging Regime of Maritime Law in India. Many students across India, especially from various national law schools and regional law colleges participated in it. The Panel Discussion was a great success in its entirety.

At present, the Centre in collaboration with Ganesh & Co., Mumbai is organising 1st NLUO – Ganesh & Co. National Maritime Law Essay Writing Competition, 2019. Through this competition the Centre seeks to inculcate interest and scholarly discussion among the students from all over India.

The Centre also maintains a blog exclusively for the study and research on Maritime Laws and growing shipping industry in India. The Centre through this blog intends to provide with the latest developments in the Indian Maritime industry as well as the recent updates about the admiralty law in India.

The Centre is constantly working with the support of Mr. Pallab Das (Faculty Advisor, Centre for Maritime Law) and dedication of its members. The team members of the Centre for the academic session 2019-20 are Anamika, Amit Chawla, Arth Singhal, Avni Sharma, Divyansh Nayar, Divyanshu Jain, Harsha Tiwari, Kartikey Bhalotia, Nimisha Shrivastava, Parul Pradhan, Prajna Das Mahapatra, Risabh Tiwari, Sandeep Golani, Shashank Chaturvedi, Toshika Soni.

For any inquiry drop us an e-mail on