“2nd NLUO-PHFI Public Health Law National Moot Court Competition, 2022”

The Centre for Public Health Law of National Law University Odisha in association with the Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI) is conducting the "2nd NLUO PHFI Public Health Law National Moot Court Competition" from July 7th to 10th, 2022.  We are expecting participation from law colleges and universities from across the country.

About the Moot Court Competition

National Law University Odisha, Cuttack takes pride in pioneering the development and teaching of ‘Public Health Law’ as a specialised course in India. We offer a streamlined study of ‘Public Health Law’ as a seminar course, away from the shadow of Constitutional Law, Medicine and Law and Bioethics. While the Covid-19 pandemic has put a spotlight on just the subject there is a need for broader engagement with administrators, academicians, lawyers, and law students across the country to critically analyse the role of law in making health a realizable goal and ensuring distributive fairness in the allocation of critical health infrastructure. What better way to do it and cudgel the young minds than a moot court competition? So, with an aim to expand our reach to law students across the country and make them think and research about various nitty-gritties of byzantine legal rules and principles that form the bedrock of the public health apparatus we are organising this 2nd PHFI-NLUO Public Health Law Moot. The purpose of this moot is to armour budding lawyers with research skills and arguments on the tensions between civil liberties and states powers and duties with respect to tobacco control.

About the 1st Public Health Law National Moot Court Competition

The first edition of the moot was a stellar success with the participation of 68 teams from across the length and breadth of the country. In the North, we had teams from up to Kashmir (Central University of Kashmir) to Kerala (NUALS, Kochi and GLC, Trivandrum) in the South, Gujarat in the West [GNLU, Gujarat] to Bengal [NUJS] in the East.  The teams represented National Law Universities, Central and State Government Law Department, Private Law Universities, and law colleges (both urban and local). They were judged in the preliminary rounds by a panel consisting of sitting civil judges, senior advocates, advocates before 13 different High Courts, law firm partners and associates, in-house counsels, government counsels and independent researchers.  The finals were judged by eminent legal luminaries and public health experts including Mr Anand Grover, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India, Dr Gagandeep Kang, India’s leading virologist and Professor, CMC Vellore, Mr Murali Neelkanthan, Partner, Amicus, Mr Sameer Sah, Partner, Khaitan & CO and Mr Warren Bruke, Senior Attorney, United States House of Representatives, Office of Legislative Counsel. The event was also graced by Hon'ble Justice Mr Sanjeeb Panigrahi, Judge, Orissa High Court and Dr K Srinath Reddy, President, Public Health Foundation of India. Government Law College, Mumbai won the competition and will be awarded a cash prize of Rs 21,000. They also won the citation for ‘Best Memorial’ and will be awarded a separate cash prize of Rs 10000. Runners up, NALSAR Hyderabad will be awarded a cash prize of Rs. 15,000. Anshika Paul of Government Law College, Trivandrum was adjudicated the ‘Best Speaker’ and will get prize money of Rs.10000.  Other hon’ble citations were ‘Fourth Best Memorial’ to Himachal Pradesh National Law University, Shimla, ‘Third Best Memorial’ to Dr Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University, Lucknow, ‘Second Best Memorial’ to Chanakya National Law University, Patna, ‘Third Best Speaker’ as Anagha Ramdass from NUALS, Kochi and ‘Second Best Speaker’ to Nabeel M from School of Law, University of Mysore.

Competition Timeline

Release of Moot Proposition and Opening of Registrations

20th April, 2022

Close of Registrations

24th May, 2022

Memorial Submissions

20th June, 2022

Preliminary Oral Rounds [Knock Out]

7-8th July, 2022

Quarterfinal Oral Rounds

9th July, 2022

Semi-final  Oral Rounds

10th July, 2022

Final Oral Rounds

10th July, 2022



All participants will be presented with E-Certificates of Participation and all the winners of awards will be presented with E-Certificates of Merit and a cash prize in addition to E-Certificates of Participation.


Prize Money 


Prize Money 


Rs. 21,000

Best Speaker

Rs. 10,000

Runners Up 

Rs. 15,000

Best Memorial 

Rs. 10,000


Registration Guideline and Details

  • The competition will be conducted through online mode only.
  • All students enrolled in a three (3) year LL.B. programme or a five (5) year LL.B. programme shall be eligible to participate in the Competition. However, only one team per institution shall be eligible to participate. Students enrolled in post-graduate or diploma courses are not eligible to participate.
  • Each team shall register for the competition by duly filling the Google Form  by 11:59 pm on 14th May, 2022
  • Maximum Participation is allowed for up to 64 teams only!!!
  • Participation will be recognised on first-cum-first-serve basis.
  • The team must upload a certificate of nomination for representing their institute issued by their Moot Court Committee or Registrar or Vice-Chancellor or Principal or Director as the case may be.
  • Registration Fees: Rs. 3,600/- per team.
  • Payment can be made to the below-mentioned account using NEFT/UPI Bank Transfer (attach the payment screenshot in the registration form.


Name of the Account Holder

Registrar, National Law University, Odisha

Name of the Bank

State Bank of India

Address of the Bank

National Law University, Cuttack. Sector-13 CDA, Cuttack-753015

Account No


Type of Account









Contact Information

Contact Centre for Public Health Law at: / /

LinkedIn & Instagram

Faculty In-charge:

Nanditta Batra

Assistant Professor of Law, NLUO

Rishika Khare

Assistant Professor of Law, NLUO



National Law University Odisha

Kathajodi Campus, SEC - 13, CDA, Cuttack – 753015, Odisha (India),
Ph.: +91 671 2338018 | Fax: +91 671 2338004